Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 32

Thread: Images do not Download

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13

    Images do not Download

    About 3-4 weeks ago there seems to have been a change in format of the ICE and Craters pages. Since then I can get to the pages, but the images do not download. A refresh of the page does not work. Clicking the "Done" button just gets the message that the server is unavailable.

    Windows 7 64 Mib
    Internet Explorer 9 32 & 64 bit
    I have tried to do a disk cleanup and other such maintenance.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    Maybe already saw all images available for Simply Craters, try Man vs. Machine

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    16
    ENortonII,

    You are not alone. I've tried to "Get Started" in both Ice Investigators and Simply Craters for the past couple of days. All that displays is the spinning wheel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    265
    I'll pass this on to the science/build team.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    Also is there any problem in mode man-machine, the machine is not placing crater mark.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks for the answers! I am getting the spinning wheel but forgot to mention it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    265
    And I totally forgot to welcome you on CosmoQuest/BAUT!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Is there any idea when this bug will be fixed? I am still spinning my wheel so to speak.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by ENortonII View Post
    Is there any idea when this bug will be fixed? I am still spinning my wheel so to speak.
    Are you having issues with Ice Investigators or Moon Mappers? We blazed through all the images for Ice Investigators and we're still waiting for new ones, as far as I know...

    Aside: I tried doing an ice dance for the images in a silly thread but so far it's not working.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Actually it affects Craters and Ice. The pages appear, but the images never come down. All you see is a spinning wheel. A page refresh does not work and the finished working button simply returns an error message that the server is not available.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    265
    We're all currently waiting for new Ice images. You should see a "Success" message for Ice Investigators, however, instead of the spinning wheel. As far as Moon Mappers is concerned... I'll try to find out what's going on.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Ok, I do see the "Success" image image on the ICE page. That is different from what I was getting before - the spinning wheel. Still getting the wheel on craters.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    119
    Sorry for the long wait. This should be fixed for you now. Let me know if this isn't the case.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    I tried it just befpore I came to the forum. In ICE I got the Success image. But in all three of the craters options, I still got the spinning wheel. I waited 15 minutes on one so it is still doing the same thing.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    apparently a long time ago that you can not make a crater.
    However, each image that I see now was marked for you.
    I think that the program does not find an image that you've not seen.
    you try to login with another user name to see if it repeated failure.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    I am not sure what you are saying.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    119
    I've fixed some things. It's likely that you can use the app now. Please let me know again?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by rafaelg View Post
    apparently a long time ago that you can not make a crater.
    However, each image that I see now was marked for you.
    I think that the program does not find an image that you've not seen.
    you try to login with another user name to see if it repeated failure.
    I think (and please correct me if I'm wrong, rafaelg) he's suggesting that you're not seeing any images load because you've already marked all the available images. However, I didn't think that anyone had gotten that far in Moon Mappers, and Cory doesn't seem to be suggesting that this is the case. I was also able to find an image that had not yet been marked by ENortonII so there are at least some out there. Hopefully Cory's fixed it now though.
    Last edited by natattack; 2012-Jul-31 at 10:03 PM. Reason: typo

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    265
    Thank you for replying faster than I did, natattack! Exactly what I would have said.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    119
    Though ENortonII is one of our most active users, he has quite a way to go before finishing all of the moon mappers images. There are a lot of them. I changed some code around that wasn't allowing him to view all of the images, so he will likely get them now (hopefully).

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    I do not know as it is the procedure for the allocation of images.
    Perhaps it is working in an area of the Moon at the same time.
    For example if we are in the area of apollo 15, and ENORTON could complete the images of this area, perhaps for some reason not to pass to the next area.
    I hope that soon ENORTON can mark craters

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    I ask forgiveness to all, but I don't speak English.
    Online translators do not translate well what I mean.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Cory; Thanks for trying. I just tried it again and the spinning wheel is still happening. I tried all three crater apps. There are no pictures in Ice yet so I cannot say whether it works.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    119
    It's truly odd that it's not working for you. I can pretend to be other users, and when pretending to be you, I have no problem getting an image.

    Could you try logging out and logging back in? Maybe that has something to do with it. I'd even have to say clear your cache (instructions here) or try another browser.

    If that doesn't work, I might have to resort to the darker forms of black magic.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by ENortonII View Post
    Cory; Thanks for trying. I just tried it again and the spinning wheel is still happening. I tried all three crater apps. There are no pictures in Ice yet so I cannot say whether it works.
    ENortonII, if you enter to Simply Craters without login, nor is displayed no image in the working window?.
    It could be that an firewall this blocking to the JAVA.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Well I made some progress today. But I had to get out a 5 year old XP laptop and install Firefox on it as Craters does not allow IE8.

    So it is not a firewall issue, but something else, perhaps at IE9 or Windows 7 Pro issue with some of the code on Cosmoquest. And since others have reported this issue, it seems it is not my computer here.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks! I got it working on another machine to see if it was a firewall issue. I had tried logging out early on. In fact I was logging in every day until last week to see if that was the issue. I have cleared my IE cache multiple times using three different methods - From IE, Disk Cleanup and CCleaner. None of them worked.

    i think darker forms of Black Magi are in order. I really do not want to have to get out my old XP laptop to mark craters and Ice. Besides we have an electricity conservation day tomorrow and a second computer is not called for.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    232
    This has us baffled. IE in a default install (no plugins on and updated system) generally works except for a few CSS issues. Cory logged in as ENortonII to test things and saw no issues. We think this is a computer issue at this point, and we aren't in a position to debug default systems.

    Can you please try installing (in order of best to worst) one of the following: Chrome or equally Safari, or Firefox.

    I'm so sorry for your difficulties.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    58
    Opera also works. While testing in IE9 there were some issues but they seemed to fix themselves and the problem went away and we couldn't make it show up again to figure out what was causing it.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    13
    Well whatever happened, and I did not do anything since last time I was here, it now works on the Windows 7 computer. I am the IT Geek where I work and I am usually the one that has to tell people I do not know what happened when an issue fixes itself. But since I, or my "aura", usually get the credit, Star Stryder and ANSR get the credit this time!

    Thanks for all of the feedback!

Similar Threads

  1. Looking to Download the C Code for the NFS Filesystem
    By TheHalcyonYear in forum Off-Topic Babbling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-Oct-31, 01:26 AM
  2. is there a way to download these shows?
    By gaffo in forum Astronomy Cast
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-May-29, 12:01 AM
  3. Free 3D Mars download
    By webcoyote in forum Space Exploration
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-Apr-06, 05:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •