Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can a Telescope Mirror be made of a reflective thin film?

Can a Telescope Mirror be made of a reflective thin film?

Hi all! I just joined, this is my first post.

I am a PhD student in a polymer department and fascinated with astronomy. The more I read (and obsess) about contributing to the field as an amateur the more I am understanding about how telescopes are built and that for dim objects, size matters. Combining that with my knowledge in the field of plastics engineering I pose this question: Can the reflecting surface of a telescope be a thin film? Can we scale this up to make no only an super large mirror but the infrastructure affordable for the an backyard enthusiast?

I have yet to invest my time in any optical math, not really my forte... but maybe a good place to start is: Is it possible to get a film with the desired shape: (I know this to be very much yes). How important is the fidelity of that shape? What is the tolerances for the shape of the mirror on your standard reflector? The sailing industry has become very good and engineering curvature into their sails... This should be doable... right?

No optical reason it couldn't be, but producing and maintaining the required shape would be very tricky. The precision requirements are quite high: the Hubble mirror deviated from its intended shape by 2.2 micrometers at the edges.

Quote Originally Posted by BenCherniawski View Post
    Hi all! I just joined, this is my first post.