Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Text of Novel: The Burning Dark

Pretty much in the middle, and a little way up.

Text of Novel: The Burning Dark

Hello folks...

Wow, let me pause for a moment and get my breath; this is really scary - almost as scary as it is thrilling. As many here may know I've been working on a S-F mystery novel; been working on it for years now. In another post I said the text was completed, and that I'd upload it on the weekend.

Naturally; the idea caused me to freak out big time, and race around making corrections: the old "Cleaning up before the maid comes" quandary. OK - I've finally told myself I'm being stupid, and it's now time to upload the thing for your consideration. I am doing so now.

Wow - sorry; this is just a bit emotional for me; I've never done anything this big before. Even if in the larger sense it is just another novel by an aspiring amateur, of course.

My goal in giving this to you is of course to gain your critique on the story - what you like, what you don't, where you think it can be improved. As you have very accurately pointed out, the text is one thing, editing it is the next step, and I'm looking forward to your input on what to take out.

I approached the writing with the old Hollywood caution in mind: "It's better to have a scene you don't need than need a scene you don't have" so there is a LOT in this book; far more than there needs to be. I already have a good idea of some of the sections - we're talking entire chapters here - to be removed; once I'm done the book will have the same story, same information; just (hopefully) a lot more streamlined.

You see, I've been building the universe Kylie Wilson lives in for about a decade now; I know it very well. The reader doesn't; I need to make sure I can safely remove parts without losing crucial information and background.