Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: if you had a computer memory chip that could store an infinite amount of information

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,266

    if you had a computer memory chip that could store an infinite amount of information

    if you had a computer memory chip that could store an infinite amount of information, could you store the amount of information on two of these chips, on one of these chips?
    Formerly Frog march..............

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    15,057
    Hilbert's computer chip?
    As physically impossible as Hilbert's Hotel, but by the same logic you can free up an infinite number of memory locations on the first chip simply by moving all the existing data to even-numbered locations, and then copying the new data into the odd-numbered locations. (You could, in fact, accommodate the data from an infinite number of infinite chips on a single chip.)

    Grant Hutchison

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    15,626
    Quote Originally Posted by Mudskipper View Post
    if you had a computer memory chip that could store an infinite amount of information, could you store the amount of information on two of these chips, on one of these chips?
    Double infinity is still infinity, at least if I remember all those magazine puzzles correctly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central Florida.
    Posts
    5,385
    With that much data, you should maintain a complete backup. I'd say that it was better to use two such chips, though I don't think that such is possible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4,565

    Data Block Backup Regions

    Quote Originally Posted by DonM435 View Post
    With that much data, you should maintain a complete backup. I'd say that it was better to use two such chips, though I don't think that such is possible.
    I think it would be posible to divide the chip into an infinite number of autonomos regions, or data blocks. You could then have an infinite number of blocks off the old chip.

    Last edited by John Mendenhall; 2017-Dec-24 at 04:50 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,731
    Quote Originally Posted by DonM435 View Post
    With that much data, you should maintain a complete backup. I'd say that it was better to use two such chips
    Too bad your network throughput is finite.

    Your screen will perpetually look like a typical Windows update:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by DaveC426913; 2017-Dec-24 at 06:04 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central Florida.
    Posts
    5,385
    Quote Originally Posted by John Mendenhall View Post
    I think it would be posible to divide the chip into an infinite number of autonomos regions, or data blocks. You could then have an infinite number of blocks off the old chip.

    My first office computer had, I noted, a C:\ drive, a D:\ drive and an E:\ drive. The software routinely accessed C:\, but I carefully backed up my work, putting copies of my documents on D:\, and my programming stuff on E:\.

    Eventually, I got an error message that suggested my C:\ drive was failing tests. I asked out staff's official computer ace about what to do.

    He informed me that I was out of luck, because he had routinely set up everybody with three partitions -- namely C:, D: and E: -- on a single drive. My bad disk affected everything. (I.e., I should've been copying evrything to floppy disks for backup purposes. My redundancy was illusory.


    Two chips would be better, with one stored far from the other. Of course, with that infinite bunch of silicon atoms, they'd probably be too heavy to move anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    The Valley of the Sun
    Posts
    8,852
    Backups were easier on the TRS-80. No hard drive at all and a floppy disk copy program.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central Florida.
    Posts
    5,385
    Yeah, but how often did you format the diskette with the data instead of the backup disk? Whoops, all gone!

    I only did it a few times.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12,554
    Quote Originally Posted by DonM435 View Post
    With that much data, you should maintain a complete backup. I'd say that it was better to use two such chips, though I don't think that such is possible.
    I'd be willing to take care of doing the backup, and as long as you'd agree to pay up front, I'd be willing to do it for as low a price per byte that you'd like, as long as it's not zero.
    As above, so below

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4,565
    Quote Originally Posted by Jens View Post
    I'd be willing to take care of doing the backup, and as long as you'd agree to pay up front, I'd be willing to do it for as low a price per byte that you'd like, as long as it's not zero.
    Bill due as soon as all the memory is used up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •