Thread: Smart Home Monitoring Systems

Smart Home Monitoring Systems

I may have drunk the kool-aid and not realized it.

At my wife's behest, I bought a Ring video doorbell. This may be the "gateway" gadget that leads to a fully blown-out smart home.

I'm already obliged to buy more, as it turns out the doorbell only rings on your phone. It does not ring in the house - unless you buy another gadget that listens to the doorbell and rings audibly.

Next on the list is going to be a Nest Smart Thermostat. (Don't know why we need a gadget to do this, we don't adjust our thermostat now when we go out or return.)

And now, apparently, I am going to want a "hub" that connects my various gadgets.

I hate configuring gadgets. It would be fine if you only had to do it once, and if it were easy, but I think I am all thumbs when it comes to electronics (even though I work in IT). My network printer doesn't network, my Terabyte drive has gone silent, etc.

Anyway, if I go down this road, I will probably get a few security cameras for the outside, and eventually wire up music around the house. Turns out, I can't even review any security videos unless I subscribe to a monthly service to store them in the cloud.

I have no idea how to start into this world. I'm learning about Google and Alexa and stuff from a friend. I am concerned about committing to a technology (such as Ring) only to discover it's not compatible with other stuff. My friend assures me that - even though it's a la carte (anything you want, you buy individually) they are all pretty good at interoperating.

Maybe my Geek Squad membership at my local Best Buy can lay out the components for me.
    Last edited by DaveC426913; 2018-Oct-08 at 12:20 AM.

HACKER'S DELIGHT, YOUTUBE'S REGRET

Or, Big Brother Gets Invited In The Front Door

Personally, I cover the camera on my phone when I'm getting dressed. That indicator light can be cut off by software.