Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bear repellent

bear repellent

So I was at REI today and they had bear repellent for $35 bucks and I wondered what makes this any different from regular pepper spray. Somewhat related since I'll be camping in a place that's alleged to have bears (high plains of central Colorado).

As a bear expert I highly recommend the use of pepper spray to repell bears and the wearing of bright orange clothing so bears can see you coming and won't be startled. I can also identify different bear species by their droppings. Black bear droppings are damp and have lots of plant material in them and grizzly bear droppings contain lots of orange fibres and smell like pepper.

Just looks like pepper spray to me. Except that it's bear-size; says it has a distance of 12 to 30 feet. Ordinary cop pepper spray only reaches 8 to 12 feet.

Also, it looks like the bear spray is designed to let loose with one humongous 7-second spray, whereas the regular purse spray is designed to let off a large number of smaller squirts.

And also, the bear spray is a 230 gram container; the ordinary cop spray is only a 17 gram unit.

Ergo, what you get for your 35 bucks is a pepper spray nuke.

Yeah. The size. If it's not bigger than human-spray, don't pay a premium.
    0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 ...
    Skepticism enables us to distinguish fancy from fact, to test our speculations. --Carl Sagan

I was just going to respond but it looks like Jigsaw beat me to it. As mentioned, the can will spray further.

Another option are bear-bangers, basically a spring launched shotgun shell. This is more to scare away a bear in the area as they shoot at least 50 feet. We usually carry both in the bush.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronald Brak View Post