PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Edge Business Tools! -- or not.

Fazor
2010-Jan-28, 08:54 PM
It seems slow 'round here this afternoon, so I thought it might be good for another of my rants. For those who don't already know, I sell insurance. I suppose I'm free to rant about my company, as I'm really an employee of an agent for said company.

I won't specify which insurance company I work for, but it's a large one. For the purposes of this rant, you could substitute the word "insurance" for just about any other kind of large, office-oriented company. Probably most non-office oriented companies too.

It's the same stuff that shows like "The Office" get a lot of their material from. Corporate ... lets call it "creativity" ... when pushing their newest and bestest marketing and sales strategies. Most of these strategies apparently hinge on both us (the employees) and the customers being complete idiots. Phrasings like "We use credit, but we don't charge you if you have bad credit. . . . you just get a discount if you have good credit!" Fine and good, so long as you're too dumb to figure out that not-charging one group is the same as charging another.

Anyway, the focus of this particular rant isn't those "creative" management types and their "magic" phraseology.

Recently, the company has decided to make a push to bring us into the wonderful age of internet technology! Oooo! Shiney! We've basically been told that starting a MySpace and Facebook page are a great way to earn sales! (I'll agree they're a tool, but they're not a huge source of sales. People simply don't get on social networking sites to shop for insurance.)

They other thing they were excited about is our new company Yammer account! For those unfamiliar, it's basically Twitter, though you sign up as a company employee and only you and other company employees can see / post to the account. It's like a company's private twitter page, basically.