PDA

View Full Version : Infinity & the universe

robram18
2010-Feb-18, 04:12 PM
Okay I'm quite new to learning in depth about the size of the universe. First post so apologies if it's a bit long-winded.

It would seem it is generally accepted that the universe is most likely to be infinate due to the lack of mass in the universe needed to curve it.

Using this assumption people and scientists talk of 'everything that is possible in physics will happen somewhere in our infinite universe'.

Now I find this difficult to grasp - Monkeys on typewriters - infinite amounts of people just like me. So whilst looking at various articles on the internet, this theory cropped up a few times.

The gist is that:
Infinity multiplied by an infinitismal number = a finite number.

Filling in the gaps with examples this would become:

Infinity multiplied by the sheer complexity of the conditions under which we have become intelligent creatures = a finite number e.g. 1 or 143 or 973 etc.

This idea seems to make a lot of sense to me. Multiplying the unimaginably massive by the unimaginably small = a finite number.

I wanted to know if this theory is very popular?
It doesn't seem to be mentioned all that often across the internet. People seem to prefer to entertain the possibility that there are an infinite amount of us!!!

Just an example to help get my point across (stolen from something else I read) -

The mile counter on a car is like the human brain. Brain cannot comprehend infinity and the infinitismal.
The mile counter cannot comprehend/register/show a number below 1 mile or above 999,999 (it simply has no room for it and has not been designed to encompass other numbers).

To the mile counter 0.25 miles is an infitismal number whilst 2 million miles is an infinite number. It cannot comprehend either.

However, 0.25 x 2,000,000 = 500,000. To the car mile counter this is a finite number.

An example of the infinitismal x infinity = finite?