PDA

View Full Version : Hardin DSH8 VS Orion XT8?

EricM
2004-Mar-04, 11:56 PM
I'm new to the astronomy scene, and want to make sure I get a good
scope this time. I recieved a scope from Wal-Mart for Christmas,
but I was unable to see anything through it. I've read MANY good
things about both the Hardin 8 and the Orion 8 and I am unable to
decide which I should purchase, or if I should look at another
scope.. $400 is about all I want to spend, and that's pushing it.
I want to be able to view not only the planets, but different deep
space objects. I really don't need a mechanical pointing scope, as
I have a friend who can read skycharts and show me around a bit, and
I believe it'd be more fun trying to find the object myself, as
opposed to having the scope point right to it. The Orion 8 and the
Hardin are the exact same price.
Here are links to each product's description:
Hardin: http://www.hardinoptical.com/dsh8.html
Orion: http://www.telescope.com/shopping/product/detailmain.jsp?
itemID=366&itemType=PRODUCT&iMainCat=4&iSubCat=9&i ProductID=366&relat
eInfo=3&add=yes#tabLink

So, what it's going be, eh? The Orion or the Hardin? If you guys
were in my position what would you get? Thanks a lot, hopefully
with your help I'll be able to prevent another disaster similar to
the Wal-Mart problem I had.

JohnOwens
2004-Mar-05, 12:00 AM
I'll just fix up one of those links for you:
Orion (http://www.telescope.com/shopping/product/detailmain.jsp?itemID=366&itemType=PRODUCT&iMainCa t=4&iSubCat=9&iProductID=366&relateInfo=3&add=yes# tabLink)
Don't know enough about the scopes to help, but I know enough HTML & BBCode to help with that, at least. :)

EricM
2004-Mar-05, 12:02 AM
heh, thanks. :D

aurora
2004-Mar-05, 12:21 AM
Try searching the Talking Telescopes group on yahoogroups. They discuss telescopes there all the time, and people have probably recently compared some of the 8 inch dobs.