PDA

View Full Version : things that have really stumped me

Brady Yoon
2004-Mar-07, 07:30 PM
Right now, I am studying for a competition called Science Olympiad. It is a science tournament held at the regional, state, and national levels. I was reading Astronomy Today 4th Edition by Eric Chaisson and Steve McMillan to do some studying and there were a few things i didn't understand in the first few chapters.

1. The first one was the orbital resonance of Mercury. Why isn't it tidally locked like the Earth & Moon system? Why does it display a 3:2 resonance instead?
2. Could someone explain how the Kirkwood Gaps in the asteroid belt and the ring divisions in the rings of Saturn are formed?
3. Ok, I know that the synodic period is the time between oppositions. For example, I heard that the synodic period of Mars and Earth is 780 days, but I don't understand how that number is derived. I also don't understand how the formula to find it is derived.
4. This really stumped me. Can someone explain in detail the eclipse seasons and the Saros cycle in detail? I understand it somewhat, but I think i need more clarification.
5. I understand this pretty well, but I want to know the difference between an absorption line and an emission line in more detail.

Thanks a lot to anyone who replies. :D

Manchurian Taikonaut
2004-Mar-07, 08:38 PM
Science Olympics..what the hecks, is this America olympic sport?

Ok, anyways let me try and explain about this Saros ideas.