PDA

View Full Version : N00b here.

Borge
2010-Mar-06, 12:19 AM
Hey guys, I'm very new to astrophotography. Very new. I've got a Canon Rebel XS with a EF-S 55-250mm lens and it just isn't cutting it. Any suggestions for equipment for me? I'm on a limited budget, by the way. Thanks :lol:

PetersCreek
2010-Mar-06, 12:54 AM
Welcome to the BAUT forums, Borge. I hope you enjoy your time here. I'm sure someone (or several someones) will be along soon to answer your question.

Please take some time to familiarize yourself with our rules, linked in my signature line below. You might also give our FAQ a look-see. No worries with your first post, it's just that some things work a bit differently here than on other boards. Again, welcome.

Tinaa
2010-Mar-06, 12:59 AM
Moved to Astronomical Observing, Equipment and Accessories.

slang
2010-Mar-06, 01:04 AM
[...] and it just isn't cutting it.

This might be an obvious question, and it might not be.. It depends on what kind of results you want to get, and why your current equipment does not deliver that. What are you trying to image?

RickJ
2010-Mar-06, 01:10 AM
If you could post or link to an example and what you would like to improve about it, it would give us a starting point. The camera and lens are quite capable of great images. It's how and where they are employed that makes the difference. So as many details as you can provide, even if they seem trivial to you, would be a great help.

Rick

Borge
2010-Mar-06, 03:06 PM
Thank you for replying to my post, here are some examples of what I would like to shoot.
http://goo.gl/eZFP
http://goo.gl/2RqJ
http://goo.gl/2KFI

I would also like to be able to photograph distant planets such as this. http://goo.gl/6ngO

I guess this was sort of a blatant question though.

My current equipment doesn't fulfill this right now because I think it's a matter of focal length.

Miscellaneous information/ questions-