PDA

View Full Version : Newbie/Questions

pagandeva2000
2010-Mar-17, 07:14 PM
Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie to backyard astronomy. Has been a desire for quite some time, but finally, I decided to pursue it. I just want to observe the skies, see the planets, idenfity constellations and learn how to use the seemingly overwhelming tools available over time. I hope to have many informative interactions on this site and look forward to meeting the forum members.

I have two questions: One is that I am interested in the Celestron FirstScope. Currently, I have Celestron binos 10 x 50 and am learning to use them gradually (since I don't know what I am looking at just yet). I see that it advertises that a person can 'see Jupiter and it's 4 Galilean moons' and the rings of Saturn, etc... Since I am not technically inclined, it is hard for me to discern if this is worth the buy.

Second is that while searching around, my son discovered http://www.amazon.com/National-Geographic-Celestial-Night-Monocular/product-reviews/B001H31D3W/ref=cm_cr_dp_all_helpful?ie=UTF8&coliid=&showViewpoints=1&colid=&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending.

I admit I am very naive, but it appears to me that it may be the 'best of both worlds' between binos and a small scope because it is portable and seems easy to use. Would any of you consider this monocular as an item of choice?

Take care and happy stargazing!

RickJ
2010-Mar-17, 09:00 PM
I'd avoid both. Without a location I can't help much but find an astronomy club in your area and attend star parties. There you will learn about telescopes in far more useful terms than we can explain it here. There's a lot of compromises when buying a telescope. You have no real idea what they are or even which ones you can and can't live with. There is no right or wrong answer to your question. What is right for one is very wrong for another due to all these compromises.