PDA

View Full Version : URL In change-of-address Notification Doesn't Work



tashirosgt
2010-Apr-02, 03:58 PM
For me (using Opera) the URL in the change-of-address notification doesn't work. If I leave off the "/Fraser..." part, it does work.

captain swoop
2010-Apr-02, 07:19 PM
the 'Fraser' isn't part of the URL. there is a gap. It's just his sig on the end of the post.

grapes
2010-Apr-02, 08:09 PM
Which link is this, that we're talking about?

PraedSt
2010-Apr-02, 08:10 PM
For me (using Opera) the URL in the change-of-address notification doesn't work. If I leave off the "/Fraser..." part, it does work.
Too funny.

PraedSt
2010-Apr-02, 08:12 PM
Which link is this, that we're talking about?

If you go to www.bautforum.com that's the message that appears on the page. That's for us plebs anyway, it might be different if the system recognizes you as a mod.

slang
2010-Apr-02, 09:52 PM
If you go to www.bautforum.com that's the message that appears on the page. That's for us plebs anyway, it might be different if the system recognizes you as a mod.

Must be the old server then. For some of the world www.bautforum.com already points to the new server, for other parts of the world it does not, yet. Just plebs with slow DNS servers. Not all plebs. :)

grapes
2010-Apr-02, 10:10 PM
Ah, that must be it. I don't see a thing. :)

mugaliens
2010-Apr-02, 10:23 PM
Must be the old server then. For some of the world www.bautforum.com already points to the new server, for other parts of the world it does not, yet. Just plebs with slow DNS servers. Not all plebs. :)

I'm not sure if the new pointer has percolated through the DNS server system, yet. I'm still logging on via http://www.bautforum.com.php5-9.dfw1-2.websitetestlink.com, but cannot log on via http://www.bautforum.com. The latter simple says, "Thank you for logging on" and returns the logon screen.

PraedSt
2010-Apr-02, 10:31 PM
I'm doomed to plebiness I see. Sigh. :(

Fraser
2010-Apr-02, 10:32 PM
I've hard coded http://www.bautforum.com.php5-9.dfw1-2.websitetestlink.com as the URL for the forum right now. Otherwise, most people would get to the homepage and then it would try to forward them back over to the old site. And that's shut off, so they'd be stuck.

Once I think everyone's DNS has fully propagated (about 2 days), I'll put http://www.bautforum.com back in as our URL, then everything will be normal again.

llucbinhtim
2010-Apr-14, 12:29 PM
Great question.I have never met that problem before.
:)

grapes
2010-Apr-14, 05:55 PM
Welcome to BAUT, lliucbinhtim!

If it ain't broke, we'll break it.

Moose
2010-Apr-15, 10:31 AM
If it ain't broke, you ain't tryin'. - Red Green