PDA

View Full Version : Gas Giants?

neonsurge
2010-May-08, 08:51 PM
I have an embarrasingly elementary question that I've been unable to answer through Googling and searching this (and other) sites. I hope that someone out there has the patience to educate an enthusiastic amateur who's recently developed an interest in astronomy and cosmology but currently lacks the background knowledge and experience to even get started:

Planets both in our own solar system and many of those observed/hypothesised extrasolar bodies are described as "gas giants" - what does this mean? Is Jupiter literally a massive ball of gas with no "solid" mass? Surely there's a solid "core" around which a gravitational field is formed?

Once again, sorry for the dumb (but honest) question.

Elukka
2010-May-08, 09:18 PM
A large ball of gas will form a gravitational field just the same as a large ball of rock, it just tends to be less dense.
As I understand Jupiter might have a rocky core somewhere deep within but it's not a given. Regardless, hydrogen itself will turn solid and metallic under great pressure, so the deeper parts of a gas giant will be solid.

Peter B
2010-May-08, 11:45 PM
I have an embarrasingly elementary question that I've been unable to answer through Googling and searching this (and other) sites. I hope that someone out there has the patience to educate an enthusiastic amateur who's recently developed an interest in astronomy and cosmology but currently lacks the background knowledge and experience to even get started:
Hey, far better to acknowledge your ignorance and seek an answer than to celebrate your ignorance as some people like to do.

Planets both in our own solar system and many of those observed/hypothesised extrasolar bodies are described as "gas giants" - what does this mean? Is Jupiter literally a massive ball of gas with no "solid" mass? Surely there's a solid "core" around which a gravitational field is formed?