PDA

View Full Version : Eigenstates are what?

Procyan
2010-Jun-09, 04:20 AM
I have a good friend who is a physicist and who has a theory on OOL. I am a chemist and we are trying to understand each other. He keeps refering to the eigenstate of the prebiotic world. Now I have asked him what that means, he has explained and I'm still befuddled. I thought i learned this at uni but that was 1000 years ago. The wiki page sounds just like my friend, maybe he wrote it LOL. Was es das Eigen??

So if anyone reading this has some words that would help me fit this into the context of a physical world replete with energy, warm tholin soup and lots and lots of time I would have a chance of contributing.

aastrotech
2010-Jun-09, 04:49 AM
I have a good friend who is a physicist and who has a theory on OOL. I am a chemist and we are trying to understand each other. He keeps refering to the eigenstate of the prebiotic world. Now I have asked him what that means, he has explained and I'm still befuddled. I thought i learned this at uni but that was 1000 years ago. The wiki page sounds just like my friend, maybe he wrote it LOL. Was es das Eigen??

So if anyone reading this has some words that would help me fit this into the context of a physical world replete with energy, warm tholin soup and lots and lots of time I would have a chance of contributing.

I don't know what you and your friend were discussing. But he may mean that there are forces inate in materials and systems that drive them to evolve/connect in certain ways, that connections/changes don't neccessarily, or most often, occur through random chance.

Procyan
2010-Jun-09, 05:12 AM
Yes, that was his point...that there is likely to have been a force directing order or complexity. The driver would be some natural oscillation and the "system" that was most suited, or tuned to that would emerge/survive.