PDA

View Full Version : Mac or PC for Astronomy major

JF0603
2010-Jun-17, 07:25 PM
I am majoring in Astronomy and I am in dire need of a new laptop. For many majors the choice is clear but I am not sure about whether to choose a Macbook Pro or a Windows based laptop for Astronomy. What do you prefer and why?

pzkpfw
2010-Jun-17, 07:34 PM
As a new user your posts are held in moderation. This stops after a while, and is simply to protect us all from ads for { insert large list of products }. Please don't post the same thing twice.

LotusExcelle
2010-Jun-17, 08:08 PM
If cost/performance is your concern then PC is the winner. Macs are now running on the same CPU as PCs so what you are paying for, really, is the logo and the OS.

kevin1981
2010-Jun-17, 08:25 PM
I have a Mac and they do run a lot smoother than p.c's. I have had it for a few years now and it hardly ever crashes, the interface is nicer and they are very user friendly.

I don't use it for anything major though. I used to produce music but i am giving it a rest at the moment. If i had the money to spare then i would rather buy a Mac over a p.c

I have never used one for Astronomy but because i have a Mac i thought i would share my opinion.

Good luck with your Major :)

RickJ
2010-Jun-17, 08:26 PM
The main issue seems to be drivers. Some equipment only comes with PC drivers and then only 32 bit not 64 that is the coming thing. Some software is available for only one OS or is more complete when run under one OS. If money is no object then the Mac would be my choice since you can install Windows and have the best of both worlds. But the Mac is more expensive to start with though this difference is getting smaller all the time and then you have to buy the Windows OS. Linux is another choice as well. I know several who use it exclusively but you have to be a computer geek to really make that work well.