PDA

View Full Version : too old to start this obsession?

portlander47
2004-Mar-25, 02:08 AM
I have always loved looking at the stars since childhood. Never did anything but gaze upward...now I have this yearning to learn so much more.
But god forbid I will become so obsessed that I will be like those bingo ladies toting thier daubers in funny bags to the nearest bingo hall. I can just see my husbands face when I tell him I want to go to the local star gazing party and just maybe, learn how to build a telescope. Okay you all, JUST how much time do you REALLY spend on this ? And , is it very, very expensive to build a modest telescope? And, are complete newbies welcome here, or are we pains in your necks?

AGN Fuel
2004-Mar-25, 02:58 AM
Welcome to the BABB, portlander47! :D \:D/

I have always loved looking at the stars since childhood. Never did anything but gaze upward...now I have this yearning to learn so much more.

Good for you!

But god forbid I will become so obsessed that I will be like those bingo ladies toting thier daubers in funny bags to the nearest bingo hall. I can just see my husbands face when I tell him I want to go to the local star gazing party and just maybe, learn how to build a telescope.

I have no idea what a dauber is, or how one is toted, but I venture to suggest that astronomy is far more interesting and rewarding! :lol:

Okay you all, JUST how much time do you REALLY spend on this?

I try to observe at least once a week, weather permitting.

And , is it very, very expensive to build a modest telescope?

It is probably cheaper to buy than build. Is your interest in observing or in building? Grinding a mirror can be very time consuming & laborious.

And, are complete newbies welcome here, or are we pains in your necks?