PDA

View Full Version : Experiment by John Stuart Bell

dieselpawn
2004-Mar-29, 06:45 AM
I teach physics on the high school level and was recently shocked by a lesson in one of my text books. Though I have a bachlors degree in physics and teaching, I am not very familiar with the work of John Stuart Bell. In one of the lessons of the text book, it talks of an experiemnt performed by John Stuart Bell. In the experiement, he took a molecule, split it in half and changed the rotational rate of the electrons of one of the halved molecules. Suprisingly, the rotation of the electrons in the other halved molecule matched and changed when the other was, no matter how apart the 2 halves were. This completely defied my view of physics and quantum mechanics. An instant change in both molecules would require a "cause and effect" which exceeds and contradicts Einsteins theorys. Could you please provide me with any more information on this claim?? I have searched the internet and could not find any other sources for information on the topic. :(

PhantomWolf
2004-Mar-29, 06:53 AM
It sounds like something similar to particle entanglement and probably uses a similar mechanism which under all current theory is the only thing apparently able to occur faster then c, in fact it appears to occur instantaneously regardless of distance. I have it on reasonably good authority that Einstein described the process as "spooky."

[edited to fix typo]

Diamond
2004-Mar-29, 07:56 AM