PDA

View Full Version : Large population in Antartica ?

canopuss
2010-Aug-29, 10:07 AM
Suppose if the world become warmer, can people live in Antartica in several millions and is large scale farming possible ?

kevin1981
2010-Aug-29, 04:19 PM
I am no expert at all. But if the planet gets warmer then would'nt the ice start to melt leading to an unstable platform to build anything? And for farming and agriculture for that many people, you would need soil and lots of it. I guess you would need to build a new ecosystem from scratch by importing lots of various materials. This would cost a lot of money also.

Ara Pacis
2010-Aug-29, 04:49 PM
If the ice all melted, You'd have to wait for the bulk of the continent to rebound from the weight of the glaciers to a position above the new sea level that would be a couple hundred feet higher than today. A lot of the continent is below the current sea level as it is.

neilzero
2010-Aug-29, 08:36 PM
Portions of the Southern Coast of Greenland were ice free for about 100 years and the Norse practiced agriculture then, so there is a slight possibility that Antarctica will support agriculture for a million people a century or two from now. More likely Antarctica will lose about as much ice as it gains from snow fall over the next 1000 years, and the oceans will rise centimeters instead of meters, mostly from melting in the Arctic. Warmer in Antarctica will likely lead to more snow fall, thus cancelling the increased ice loss. Neil

Romanus
2010-Aug-30, 12:05 AM