PDA

View Full Version : gradient, divergence, curl

AriAstronomer
2010-Sep-26, 03:56 PM
Hey everyone,
Sorry to throw some technical math on you, but it's been bothering me a while.
So I'm a third year undergrad, and have thoroughly been using gradients, curls, and divergences now. I know that the purpose of the gradient is to measure the rate of maximum change, and on a contour map, it would be the steepest descent down a mountain. But what about the divergence and curl? What is the conceptual significance of them? I asked my prof, and he kind of swept it under the rug, saying divergence has to deal with rate of change, and curl has to do with rotational motion, but if there are better answers out there I would really appreciate it.
Thanks in advance.

Ken G
2010-Sep-26, 04:44 PM
H But what about the divergence and curl? What is the conceptual significance of them? The significance of divergence is that of a local source (or sink, if negative). A vector field that has nonzero divergence at some point (and note divergence is just a number at each point in the vector field) is like a flow that would require a source at that point, of that strength, to maintain that flow field in a steady state. A classic example is electric (or gravitational) field-- where there is charge, the field "diverges" away (or toward) the charge, and where there is no charge, the field doesn't disappear, it continues on with zero divergence like the water flying away from a sprinkler (all the divergence is at the sprinkler). Mathematically, divergence can be pictured best with "Gauss' law", which says that if you integrate a divergence over a volume, you get the net flux passing through the closed surface of that volume. In the limit as you shrink the volume to zero, and divide by that volume, you get the local divergence.