PDA

View Full Version : Budget of NASA 1960 - 1973

Berengar
2010-Oct-14, 01:06 AM
Actually there is a new theory of the hoaxbelievers. It says, that NASA had a budget of ca. 57 billion Dollar but spent only 20 billions for the Apollo program. The rest of 37 billion Dollars was used for making the hoax. I know, this theory sounds strange, especially when some other hoaxbelievers include a private fund (the source for this fund is as usual missing :lol:)

I am not an expert in financial circumstances of NASA in these times. For me it would be helpful to get some informations about the budgets of the other programs in this time (Mercury, Gemini etc.). Of course with sources :razz:

Thank you for your help.

R.A.F.
2010-Oct-14, 01:20 AM
...it would be helpful to get some informations about the budgets of the other programs in this time (Mercury, Gemini etc.).

Not to seem "unhelpful", but Is there some reason you cannot google "cost of Mercury program"? (as I did...wikipedia lists 384 million for Mercury.)

Solfe
2010-Oct-14, 01:40 AM
$384 million. The Great Wiki told me.
Try to replace "program" with "mission".

R.A.F.
2010-Oct-14, 02:07 AM
$384 million. The Great Wiki told me.

I simply listed the first google entry

Try to replace "program" with "mission".

I don't know what this means other than you think that the missions on an individual basis were a lot more costly than they actually were.

Selenite
2010-Oct-14, 02:16 AM
Here's a chart showing the Nasa budget from 1960 to 1973 illustrating the totals and the percentage taken by Apollo.

http://history.nasa.gov/SP-4029/Apollo_18-16_Apollo_Program_Budget_Appropriations.htm

Good luck. Frankly, I have a hard time believing that the HBs will accept any figures from NASA, financial or otherwise.

Berengar
2010-Oct-14, 04:13 AM
Not to seem "unhelpful", but Is there some reason you cannot google "cost of Mercury program"? (as I did...wikipedia lists 384 million for Mercury.)