PDA

View Full Version : Orbit Gravity Simulator Assistance Required

DanThaiWang
2011-Feb-04, 01:30 PM
Hello,

Thanks for stopping by.

I'm a web developer with a keen interest in Astronomy. I've been working on an Orbiter application using Flash Actionscript 3.0 (since this is my native language to use). Please have a look here :

http://danthaiwang.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/pldm-orbiter/

It's very early in development, as is pretty obvious I think.

I have managed to create lots of pretty patterns resembling the Spirograph toy I remember as a kid but when I try to make a uniform collection of bodies orbiting a single larger massive object I get a little stuck.

For example the inner bodies I added close to the massive object (let's call it The Sun from now on) orbit nicely and continuously without any problems. I seem to, however, hit a bit of a wall when I get to a certain area away from The Sun. Please see the picture below :

http://www.pldm.co.uk/orbiter/download/orbitDemo.jpg

Apologies, it's a bit of a mess. Now, inner most you see a small dot, this is The Sun. Next you have an orbit of a much smaller body and outside that a blue orbit of similar size. Let's call these Venus and Earth for now (sorry Mercury).

I add these bodies to the environment by giving them a mass, a starting xPosition, starting yPosition, xVelocity and yVelocity.

Now then, it seemed to me the most logical way of doing this is by giving The Sun the starting position of x:0 and y:0. For the sake of the test I gave it a mass of 500.

Venus, the closest planet in this system, has a mass of 6, starting x:-750 and a y:0. So, this means that when she starts off I only need to give her a y-Velocity, since she's in line with The Sun, she can only go upwards in order to be pulled around. So, after a bit of trial and error I figured out that a start y-Velocity of -56 (these are actually pixels per frame) swings her around and produces a more-or-less circular obit. Nice.