PDA

View Full Version : Satellites of moons

Tom Mazanec
2004-May-14, 02:57 AM
Can planetary moons have natural satellites?

ToSeek
2004-May-14, 03:17 AM
The orbits are probably not stable over the long term due to the influence of the larger parent body. I'm sure someone else on here will chime in with a more rigorous analysis.

kenneth rodman
2004-May-14, 06:56 AM
im not a scientist or such but i dont see why not. Im thinking they would be 2 moons orbiting each other and both those moons would orbit the planet

Kullat Nunu
2004-May-14, 10:28 AM
im not a scientist or such but i dont see why not. Im thinking they would be 2 moons orbiting each other and both those moons would orbit the planet

I don't think that would be stable.

If the satellite is massive and orbits very far away, a small sub-satellite might be possible on low orbit.
On the other hand, small disturbances could easily throw the sub-satellite from its path.

2004-May-14, 01:58 PM

I don't think that would be stable.

If the satellite is massive and orbits very far away, a small sub-satellite might be possible on low orbit.
On the other hand, small disturbances could easily throw the sub-satellite from its path.

Okay, how about this. The earth's moon is relatively massive compared to it's parent body. Could our moon have it's own natural satellite if it were in a relatively low orbit?

Kullat Nunu
2004-May-14, 02:16 PM
Okay, how about this. The earth's moon is relatively massive compared to it's parent body. Could our moon have it's own natural satellite if it were in a relatively low orbit?

No. I think the Sun (and Earth?) would perturb the satellite too much.

Can a tidally locked body have a satellite anyway?
I mean not mutually locked like Pluto.

Taibak
2004-May-14, 02:47 PM
The orbits are probably not stable over the long term due to the influence of the larger parent body. I'm sure someone else on here will chime in with a more rigorous analysis.