PDA

View Full Version : Inept Art Student needs help with project...

Helium Macaroni
2004-May-23, 10:08 AM
Hi guys and gals,
I have no idea if this would be the right place to put this, but I'd like to give it a shot. Here's the deal. I'm currently an Art Student at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena CA. I'm in the Illustration department and I do mostly concept art and work meant for use in the entertainment industry. I'm working on a sci-fi movie idea for a particular class I'm taking. There are quite a lot of spaceships and robots and whatnot. I like to have all of my art, and corresponding storylines be as near real as possible. I like having scientific legitimacy to my work. My story involves quite a bit of space travel and reference to particular star systems colonized by earth and the like, run-of-the-mile sci-fi stuff. I'm looking for someone, or perhaps a few people who can help me out on the details of different celestial phenomena. I'm going to try and be as realistic as possible in my story, so I?d like to be solid in knowing what stars are in what proximity to earth, the aspects of different stars, and generally how the reality in nature can help me further the believability of my story. I've looked around the internet for various facts and info, but I'll be frank, some of it confuses me and there have been numerous times when I've said to myself, "Arg, I wish I could just ASK someone." Soooo If anyone would be interested in maybe corresponding with me at various stages of this development either through this forum, over email, or AIM, I'd greatly appreciate it! I've been interested in astronomy and space all my life and really just want to let the fantastic things in nature be a part of my story, and help add believability and texture. Hope you can help me out!

Thanks!
-Mike :D

kucharek
2004-May-23, 10:29 AM
Hi Macaroni,