PDA

View Full Version : Looming Larger: Dawn Approaches Vesta, Enters Orbit July 15-16



Fraser
2011-Jul-14, 06:10 PM
As we anticipate the Dawn spacecraft going into orbit of Vesta within the next 36 hours, here’s the latest image taken as the spacecraft approaches Vesta, taken on July 9 from a distance of about 41,000 kilometers (26,000 miles). Surface details are coming into focus a little more than from the previous image that was [...]

More... (http://www.universetoday.com/87481/looming-larger-dawn-approaches-vesta-enters-orbit-july-15-16/)

Sun88
2011-Jul-15, 12:43 AM
Engineers expect the spacecraft to be captured into orbit at approximately 10 p.m. PDT Friday, July 15 (1 a.m. EDT Saturday, July 16). They expect to hear from the spacecraft and confirm that it performed as planned during a scheduled communications pass that starts at approximately 11:30 p.m. PDT on Saturday, July 16 (2:30 a.m. EDT Sunday, July 17). When...{sniped}

Could the writers of the PR give time in UTC? Zulu? GMT? Save so much confusion trying to convert times!

Thanks