PDA

View Full Version : Telescope Mounts (Help!)

Jim_McBrearty
2002-May-05, 06:51 PM
Right, I've been into Astronomy for ages, but only got upgraded my binoculars 2 years ago to purchase a telescope. (Actually it was my Dad who got me it.)

It's a basic "Goldline" refractor, which has a max power of around 175, and, it's getting long in the tooth. I've been saving for a computer upgrade for a while, but am now considering getting a decent reflector; a big decision for a student like me.

Now, there are two i've got it down to, My Dad insists on getting one with an "Equitorial Mount"; but that one costs 30 squid more.

I have a dilema: I've never used one of these fancy mounts before, but he keeps telling me they're better: Since he's been using telescopes longer than I have, I tend to go with his judgement.

Help! What should I do! And what is the benefit of one of these equitorial mount thingies anyway, my Dad tends to come out with Physics styled mumbo-jumbo about earth rotation and tracking objects: Maybe the bad astronomer could do a piece on the site about wtf this mount is? /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_smile.gif

All help appreciated...

Jim

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Jim_McBrearty on 2002-05-05 14:53 ]</font>

MHS
2002-May-05, 11:10 PM
I would recommend you to buy a telescope with an equitorial mount too. I have one myself and it's pretty handy. The only thing you have to do to track a star or planet or whatever is aiming one of the system's axes at polaris. Then you can track the object with the use of only one hand. When you put a little motor on the tracking system that causes the ax to spin around in 24 hours you can make photos that need a long(er) exposure.

roidspop
2002-May-06, 03:43 AM