PDA

View Full Version : A day in the life.

RAF_Blackace
2011-Sep-28, 07:04 PM
No idea if you'll find this funny, but it cant hurt anyone posting it can it. Besides, if you know me you know I like posting my experiences :)

I am currently a senior software Engineer working on the design and the commissioning of airport systems. A well paid and enjoyable job.

I though you may be interested in what I consider a typical day. So I'll post an extract from my company daily report from one day last week where I had to install my software at Gatwick Airport Check ins while passengers were standing waiting.

-----------------------

Doug agreed the install with Gatwick Airport for zone H Check ins was to be carried out at 16:00.

Set myself up on Check in zone F Ethernet connection at 15:00 only to get a phone call from Paul at 15:10 telling me the plough was down, Paul was off duty and the MBO called the wrong person. Unfortunately I am not god and can only be in one place at one time. Luckily for me and with great insight Doug was already on the scene. Doug called me and I helped him through the reset and restart procedure for an overload fault over the phone whilst at the same time also responding to several phone calls from Gatwick Engineering asking why I was not there and why is it not running yet, also informing me that check ins were now in die back on the zone D Line and passengers were getting angry. Liaising with Doug I eventually got the SBO to restart the line.

Before shutting the check in line down I decided to check that they were in fact closed. I went to the zone H line at 15:30 only to find about 100 passengers checking in. Asked Easy Jet Duty Manager if he knew what was about to happen, he had no idea. There followed a three way conversation between myself/MBO/Easy Jet duty manager. All eventually agreed we could do the job at 16:00 as arranged.