PDA

View Full Version : how many billions of years we got left?

Plat
2004-Jul-02, 04:00 AM
before the universe can no longer sustain intelligent or non-intelligent life?.....and will there be another big bang after the big rip

Excelsior
2004-Jul-02, 06:52 AM
I heard of two different possible ends for the universe. One is the big crunch where the universe will collapse into a single super massive black hole. Another is cold death where all the hydrogen fuel in the universe will run out and all the stars will die.

jt-3d
2004-Jul-02, 10:57 AM

Oh, who didn't see that coming?

TriangleMan
2004-Jul-02, 11:04 AM
As an accountant I think we should round to the nearest trillion years so I'll say the universe will end in about 1. :wink:

On a more serious note the lastest special edition of Astronomy magazine had an article on this that was supportive of the "long, cold death" scenario, due to dark energy casuing an unending expansion of the universe. It also estimated that using up most of the hydrogen in the universe would take 100-300 billion years or so.

Wally
2004-Jul-02, 12:01 PM
On a more serious note the lastest special edition of Astronomy magazine had an article on this that was supportive of the "long, cold death" scenario, due to dark energy casuing an unending expansion of the universe. It also estimated that using up most of the hydrogen in the universe would take 100-300 billion years or so.

darn! I better get my papers in order. . .

Kullat Nunu
2004-Jul-02, 12:37 PM

If the Universe expansion keeps accelerating at current speed, it will be rather empty place. In 100 billion years every galaxy beyond the Virgo supercluster will disappear forever.

TriangleMan
2004-Jul-02, 02:33 PM
If the Universe expansion keeps accelerating at current speed, it will be rather empty place. In 100 billion years every galaxy beyond the Virgo supercluster will disappear forever.