PDA

View Full Version : Help with shooting stars

mradam67
2011-Nov-03, 06:00 AM
Hi All,

First time post so please be gentle :)

Ok so im after some help with my astrophotography - I've been at it for about 6 months now (when i bought my first scope)

Loving it and been able to get some awesome pics, I have a dobs 6" telescope, a nikon D3100, a barolw and also the attachment that goes from the barlow to the nikon.

Im able to shoot pics of the moon and just recently got a pretty cool picture of Jupiter but whenever i try to shoot the stars they're always just black and dont show anything (even if i set it to bulb)

Am i doing something wrong or do i not have the right equipment to be able to do this.. Im fairly new to this astronomy / astrophotography business so any help would be appriciated.

Im not sure if i can post pics of what i've taken yet as its only my first post

Thanks all and love what i've seen of the forums so far!

Adam

Hornblower
2011-Nov-03, 03:22 PM
Hi All,

First time post so please be gentle :)

Ok so im after some help with my astrophotography - I've been at it for about 6 months now (when i bought my first scope)

Loving it and been able to get some awesome pics, I have a dobs 6" telescope, a nikon D3100, a barolw and also the attachment that goes from the barlow to the nikon.

Im able to shoot pics of the moon and just recently got a pretty cool picture of Jupiter but whenever i try to shoot the stars they're always just black and dont show anything (even if i set it to bulb)

Am i doing something wrong or do i not have the right equipment to be able to do this.. Im fairly new to this astronomy / astrophotography business so any help would be appriciated.

Im not sure if i can post pics of what i've taken yet as its only my first post

Thanks all and love what i've seen of the forums so far!