PDA

View Full Version : Gravity detection systems

RoboSpy
2004-Jul-20, 12:02 AM
I was thinking recently that some day, all conventional modes of detection used by the military will someday be obsolete. We already have stealth aircraft, and lord knows that technology is only going to improve. Active camoflauge will make seeing objects, either with naked eye or telescopes or what have you, very difficult, if not impossible.

But I'm a science fiction writer, and I can't just stand by and write about a future where nobody can detect anyone else because of flawless stealth systems. That's boring! So I was thinking, do you all think it would be possible to make accelerometers so sensitive that they could pick up the tiny gravitational pull of a spacecraft, even from many thousands of kilometers away? I wonder also if even this "gravar" could be thwarted by orbitting very close to planet, which would act as a massive gravity mask.

Comments?

daver
2004-Jul-20, 12:29 AM
I'm pretty sure that invisibility, as for instance in the most recent Bond film, isn't possible. Camouflage is, and could presumably be fairly effective against a bland background.

As far as space ships are concerned, you can make your spaceship radar absorbant and non-reflective, but it's still going to generate heat, and you'll have to dump that heat somehow. Maybe, for extremely short periods of time, you can fill storage locker 3 with ice and dump it there, but eventually all that ice is going to melt and you'll have to vent it outside.

If you are playing with science as we know it and your space ship is equipped with thrusters, a thruster firing is going to be pretty obvious no matter how black you paint your spaceship.

Robert Forward invented a mass detector (he called it the rotating cruciform gravity gradiometer, other people call it the Forward Mass Detector). I don't know the theoretical sensitivity of it.

Trinity
2004-Jul-20, 12:43 AM