PDA

View Full Version : event horizon illumination please

worzel
2004-Jul-20, 08:04 AM
Light from outside a black hole's event horizon leaving perpendicularly to the surface reaches us at speed c but increasingly redshifted as the light source approaches the event horizon. When the light source gets to the event horizon what happens?

Does it still reach us at c but is redshifted out of existence

Does is just suddently stop dead in tracks at the eh

I know it has to do with the warping of spacetime but I can't get my head around the idea of a photon frozen in position but still moving at c unless time itself actually stops at the eh and so presumably goes backwards inside it.

CaptainToonces
2004-Jul-20, 08:30 AM
I'll take a stab but I am still learning this myself. I think, first of all it would be blue shifted as it approached the eh. If it actually came within the eh it would never escape as gravity would be so great it would continually force the photon's trajectory to the center of the black hole (that's the definition of the eh). If it managed a "near fly-by" of the eh, its trajectory would be bent according to proximity to the eh, and the shifting of its frequency would equal out to a far away observer. Please correct me if I'm wrong experts!

worzel
2004-Jul-20, 08:42 AM
I'm talking about light moving in exactly the opposite direction to the centre of mass of the black hole so it can't get bent and it definitely is redshifted (I think).

My problem is that there seems to be a discontinuity: 1mm outside the eh (or even 1nm) light heading out moves at c and yet at the eh it doesn't move :?

JohnD
2004-Jul-20, 08:58 AM
You are forgetting that this is in space AND time. As the photon approaches the EH, time slows for it. It is still moving at c, but will take longer than the Universe will exist to reach the EH.

BUT!
Stephen Hawking Alert!