PDA

View Full Version : What is the strangest payment in kind you've gotten for doing something?

HenrikOlsen
2011-Dec-25, 08:09 PM
I expect we have a lot of members with jobs where their skills are also useful outside of work. Payment in kind seems to be common for such extra-curricular work and after getting a somewhat unusual offer myself I started being curious if others got stories to tell too.

Being a IT consultant I have a variety of skills, one of which is programming, with website back-end programming as a sub-skill.
My strange in-kind offer was for a years membership and free entrance to a swingers club in exchange for adding functionality to their website.
I'll admit it's not really strange to get something for free in exchange for making the website for that something, but it's a rather unusual thing to get free entrance for.

Solfe
2011-Dec-26, 05:25 AM
I was just paid $100 and about 5 lbs of cookies for removing a very messy virus, tuned up several computers, set up a wifi network, setting up an iPod and Kindle.

I accepted the cookies, but when I tried to decline the cash, the client gave it to my kids. Neighbourhood clients can be a pain in the butt.

SoulSurfer32
2011-Dec-26, 10:36 PM
Once had a friend give me a boston terrier puppy for putting a clutch in his car. I didnt really want the dog but took it anyway. The kids fell in love with the damn thing just in time for it to run off and get hit by a car. Thats why I hate pets lol.

John Mendenhall
2011-Dec-27, 05:26 PM
A flea market vendor once offered to trade the merchandise I was looking at for the untouched takeout breakfast I was carrying. A quick mental calculation said 'Good deal!' I swapped for the merchandise and went for another breakfast.

Fazor
2011-Dec-27, 05:43 PM