PDA

View Full Version : High School Student Might Have found a Cure for Cancer!

Blackhole
2012-Mar-03, 07:43 PM
This is truly remarkable:

http://wgrd.com/high-school-student-might-have-found-cure-for-cancer-video/

I love her approach to the problem, and it makes sense to me. However, I'm no scientist, so those of you who are perhaps more well versed on biology, does this concept make sense to you? This could be a massive breakthrough. Thoughts?

Van Rijn
2012-Mar-03, 08:19 PM
My first thought is "ho hum" - I've seen cancer cure claim stories since I was in High School (even before that, really). Sometimes there are new useful cancer treatments, but even then, there are many more stories than successful treatments. So I usually avoid cancer cure stories, and am usually annoyed with them, because they often strike me as irresponsible (nobody should claim a cure for something that affects much of the population unless and until it has been shown in independent blinded human trials to really be a cure).

Second thought was that it was a video, and I prefer reading an article. Easier to quote too. I found this:

http://zazenlife.com/2012/01/19/high-school-student-might-have-found-the-cure-for-cancer/

According to CBS, this is what Angela is working on:

“Angela’s idea was to mix cancer medicine in a polymer that would attach to nanoparticles — nanoparticles that would then attach to cancer cells and show up on an MRI. so doctors could see exactly where the tumors are. Then she thought [t]hat if you aimed an infrared light at the tumors to melt the polymer and release the medicine, thus killing the cancer cells while leaving healthy cells completely unharmed.”

(Note, there was an unfortunate typo in text that I corrected with the "t" in brackets.)