PDA

View Full Version : Photographing planets by day?

John Colley
2004-Aug-22, 08:50 PM
Hi all,

I'm completely new here (in fact It's the first time I've ever visited an astronomy website good or, bad).

I'm a photographer - someone with an interest in the science of light and time but, completley clueless about planets and stars and suns and stuff outhere.

Here's a copy of a post I made on The British Journal of Photography web forum:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Photographing planets at night.

Well can you?

I've spent this afternoon preparing some negatives from my recent Andalusia trip for printing and hi-res scanning. On a few shots of the Kodak 400CN I noticed what I thought were specks of dust on the heavily filtered, black day time sky.

After looking more closley and comparing 3 similar shots of the same scene the 'speck' appears to be consistent in it's position in the sky. As the shots were taken through a polariser and a red(x8) (erm, that says 'times 8' - no idea who the cheeky chap in the shades is. I didn't invite him) filter I'm wondering whether the 'speck' is actually mars!

I was at around 3000ft above sea level, mid afternoon, pointing my lens in a north east/easterly direction. Are there any astronomers out there? Or, have any photographers experienced this before?

----------------------------------------------------------------

A low res scan of one shot can be viewed here: http://www.silverbites.co.uk/andalusia/52.htm

Hopefully I'll get a hi-res scan of the neg done soon for more visual info.

Anyone here able to halt my curiosity?

Cheers,

john.

John Colley
2004-Aug-22, 09:54 PM
Can someone at least tell me where mars would appear in the sky at that time (in theory at least - I know it's not really possible to see it by day).