PDA

View Full Version : Dead stars and literature

Joel Van Valin
2004-Aug-31, 02:49 PM
Hi - I'm a writer crossing over, just briefly here, into the science world. I'm putting together an article on scientific misconceptions in contemporary poetry and fiction. I haven't run across any poems employing the "millions of stars" phrase (astronomers seem to be convinced that every other poem talks about seeing millions of stars, but actually it's thought a terrible cliche). What I do see quite frequently though is a reference to seeing the light of a star that is actually burnt out. Richard Powers, Gilbert Sorrentino and others have used this, and it's a very rich metaphor to be sure, but I'm sceptical as to it's validity. We can only see, what, 2500 stars without binoculars? And stars live a long time. Are there any stars visible to the naked eye that are in fact no longer burning?

Thanks much,
- Joel

badprof
2004-Aug-31, 03:01 PM
Hi Joel,

Since the most distant stars visible to the naked eye are all less than about 5000 light years, it is very unlikely that any of them would have ceased shining.

Cheers,

Maurice

Kaptain K
2004-Aug-31, 06:40 PM
Supernova 1987A was visible to the naked eye. Since a supernova is the death of a star, you could say that, when it was visible, we were seeing a star that had died.

Eta Carina is a variable star that, while not currently visible, was one of the brightest stars in the sky at times in the 19th century. It is about 9,000 light years away. Since it is a very massive (and hence, short lived and unstable) star, there is a chance that it has died, but we haven't seen the supernova yet.

Closer to home, Betelgeuse is the nearest supernova candidate. Some say that it is a 50-50 bet to go supernova in the next 50,000 years. Since it is between 400 and 500 light years away, there is a slight chance that it has gone supernova since the light we see now left it.

TriangleMan
2004-Aug-31, 08:05 PM
Welcome to the board Joel. :)