PDA

View Full Version : Is the idea of terraforming considered BA?

Rxke
2004-Sep-26, 12:48 PM
Disclaimer #1: I'm a newbie here, so a bit confused...

In the "Gung Ho for Mars" topic, Cugel suggested terraforming is not possible...

I did a quick search on the board but didn't find a conclusive answer cq the errr... opinion about the terraforming idea.

Disclaimer #2: I'm a New Mars regular, (Mars Society Message Boards,) and there are lots of -sometimes pretty wild-discussions about terraforming there, but I'm prepared to accept that 'their' opinions might be non-objective...
Some sceptical people brought good reasons to those boards why it was not possible, but 'we' could always come up with 'countermeasures'...

So my question: is terraforming pseudoscience or not?

(edited out typo..)

Bounced Check
2004-Sep-26, 03:10 PM
I believe it is considered more of a theory waiting someplace to test. We can't terraform anything yet because we lack a "lab" large enough to try out the various methods.

Step one is trying to get someplace to try terraforming.

Step two is being long ranged enough in our vision and dedication to actually let the process take hold.

Kesh
2004-Sep-26, 09:14 PM
The basic concept is sound, but we have no idea how well it will work. It might fizzle out, or it might lead to an environment that's less hospitable than the original state.

Rxke
2004-Sep-26, 09:44 PM
Admin, mods: It just occurred to me this subject might be not suitable to the BA boards... If so, I apologize, and you can lock this topic...

If suitable: I too, think the 'worse than before' scenarios don't get enough limelight...
If terraforming efforts would be able to change the climate, we're bound to see some pretty severe errr... storms, no? Right now Mars has some kind of equibrilum, climate-wize, but raising the atm. pressure or temp, leading to the possibility of massive outgassing... Phoowee... :o

JonClarke
2004-Sep-26, 10:23 PM