PDA

View Full Version : Black Hole Hunter Drops from a Plane, Zooms to Orbit



Fraser
2012-Jun-13, 09:20 PM
The newest mission to hunt for black holes soared to orbit today after first dropping from an aircraft. NASA’s Nuclear Spectroscopic Telescope Array (NuSTAR) launched 16:00 UTC (12 noon EDT, 9 a.m. PDT). NuSTAR was strapped to an Orbital Sciences Pegasus rocket, both of which strapped to an L-1011 “Stargazer” aircraft. The plane left Kwajalein [...]

More... (http://www.universetoday.com/95813/black-hole-hunter-drops-from-a-plane-zooms-to-orbit/)