PDA

View Full Version : If mars had a large moon and large core could it support life?

willstaruss22
2012-Jun-23, 10:38 AM
Im no scientist or math wizard so i'll keep it simple. If mars originally had a large moon and a larger core could life thrive. Would it also sustain a magnetic field then atmosphere because of the larger core. Also could there be the possibility of plate tectonics because of a larger moon for tidal friction?

Im researching if mars developed differently with these differentials

LoneTree1941
2012-Jun-25, 01:39 PM
If Mars had a density equal to Earth, instead of it having .38 Earth gravity, it would have .53 earth gravity - Earth, on average is 40% more dense than Mars. In that situation we could have Mars be identical in make up to Earth, just a scaled down version. Earth is the most dense planet in the solar system and Mercury second most dense.

This suggests to me that a smaller planet, say a Mars sized planet could be even more dense than Earth is. Earth may have lost some less dense material make-up in the creation of the moon; one scenario for the refinement of a denser than average planet of the four terrestrial planets. Without that adjustment of Earth density Mercury would rank 1st, Venus (might then) rank 2nd, Earth (without the moon creating collision) 3rd, and Mars 4th.

So the potential existed for a mars sized planet to be even more dense than Earth, have a large moon, a molten core, plate tectonics, a magnetic field, a thicker atmosphere, more out-gassing to generate a thicker atmosphere, and greater internal heat released to provide some ambient heat to make Mars' present day climactic conditions substantially more friendly for life than would be the case experienced without all those refinements.

Blackhole
2012-Jun-28, 03:21 PM
I speculate that Mars can support live even without a thicker core and a bigger moon. But from what we know of Earth, those two features certainly help life evolve and persist for billions of years.