PDA

View Full Version : Would anyone know why my TAB key went on strike?

Tog
2012-Jun-29, 06:44 AM
The work computer is having an issue that I can't seem to resolve.
The TAB key does nothing. It's like it's not registering the keystroke in any program.
ALT+TAB works fine. Shift+TAB works fine. It's only TAB when used by itself. I've rebooted to no effect.

Is there any way this could be a hardware issue if the key works in combination?

The OS is Win XP and the problem exixts in every program I've tried.

Van Rijn
2012-Jun-29, 07:20 AM
Is there any way this could be a hardware issue if the key works in combination?

I'm not a keyboard expert, but yes. It could be an issue with the way the keys are multiplexed, could be the keyboard controller chip.

I take it there's no spare keyboard to try?

Tog
2012-Jun-29, 07:36 AM
Not without a helper monkey. They didn't design this desk with cable access in mind. I haven't had the chance to tear anything apart yet. I was hoping that since the ALT-TAB worked I wouldn't need to do that part.

Van Rijn
2012-Jun-29, 07:39 AM
Oh, and by "rebooted" did you turn the computer off for a couple minutes? It's not a laptop? It's best to be sure it's all really powered off.

Van Rijn
2012-Jun-29, 07:41 AM
Not without a helper monkey. They didn't design this desk with cable access in mind. I haven't had the chance to tear anything apart yet. I was hoping that since the ALT-TAB worked I wouldn't need to do that part.

If you have any accessible USB ports and a USB keyboard, you might just try plugging it in.

Tog
2012-Jun-29, 07:54 AM
The cables are running under the counter tops and none will reach from one tower to the other. I can't move the tower without taking off the video cable. As far as I know, I don't have access to a spare keyboard.

Tog
2012-Jun-29, 08:52 AM