PDA

View Full Version : Aurora Alert!



Swift
2012-Jul-13, 01:45 AM
From spaceweather.com (http://spaceweather.com/)


Big sunspot AR1520 unleashed an X1.4-class solar flare on July 12th at 1653 UT. Because this sunspot is directly facing Earth, everything about the blast was geoeffective. For one thing, it hurled a coronal mass ejection (CME) directly toward our planet. According to a forecast track prepared by analysts at the Goddard Space Weather Lab, the CME will hit Earth on July 14th around 10:20 UT (+/- 7 hours) and could spark strong geomagnetic storms. Sky watchers should be alert for auroras this weekend.

tusenfem
2012-Jul-13, 06:11 AM
Thank goodness it's cloudy here in Austria, don't want those nasty auroras to interfere with my sleep.
Of course, aurora on July 14th will save France a lot of fireworks.

Ara Pacis
2012-Jul-14, 08:00 AM
Updated - Will Impact Sooner (in about 80 minutes)

REVISED FORECAST: The CME launched toward Earth by yesterday's X-flare is moving faster than originally thought. Analysts at the Goddard Space Weather Lab have revised their forecast accordingly, advancing the cloud's expected arrival time to 09:17 UT (5:17 am EDT) on Saturday, July 14th. Weekend auroras are likely.

Ara Pacis
2012-Jul-14, 09:03 PM
Updated - ...or later

CME IMPACT: As expected, a CME hit Earth's magnetic field on July 14th at approximately 1800 UT or 11 am Pacific Daylight Time). A geomagnetic storm is brewing in the wake of the impact. At the moment, conditions appear favorable for auroras over high-latitude places such as Canada, Scandinavia, Antarctica and Siberia. It is too early to say whether the storm will intensify and bring auroras to middle latitudes as well.