PDA

View Full Version : How not to freak out your readers

Kyrre
2012-Aug-20, 10:01 AM
I am a research biologist by profession, but in my free time (hah!) I am writing science fiction novels under a pseudonym. In my current work -under -construction a basic premise is that our world more than 20.000 years ago was visited by an alien life form interested enough to hang around for a while and leave a number of very advanced AI robotic probes around. They are not supposed to have had any really major influence on human history or development so far, and are by no means all-powerful or all-knowing.

Now, you may think it more or less implausible, but for the sake of this novel, just assume this actually happened. However, I am extremely unimpressed by the likes of von Daniken, and me being neither an astronomer nor a historian, I would rather enjoy hearing your thoughts on this topic:

One person in the book will list a number of real historical events, archeological findings or unexplained curiosities as facts that could be seen as consistent with this idea. What would (s)he say? What sort of "evidence" could this person list that you would consider the least cringe-worthy? There is obviously no good evidence in the real world demonstrating any version of the "ancient astronomer" hypothesis, so I am simply looking for things that could be listed without sounding obviously wrong or stupid to the well-informed and skeptical. Any ideas are more than welcome.

(Edit: And should any moderator deign to do so, I would be really grateful for anyone correcting my annoying typo in the thread title that I noticed too late to change myself. I apologize.)

Tog
2012-Aug-20, 10:46 AM
For years, I've had a "for fun" theory about one type of dinosaur achieving sentience and leaving the earth. They redirect a large asteroid to smash into the land mass later legends will call "Atlantis" which destroys all traces of their civilization.