PDA

View Full Version : How long before this forum is deemed obsolete?

Cosmologist
2012-Sep-21, 12:16 PM
It strikes me that message boards have been around for decades. Its a simple setup and that has its attractions. But the way technology is leaping ahead in ever greater bounds I have to wonder how much time this place has left. Even facebook will be redundant one day.

grapes
2012-Sep-21, 12:24 PM
You will be assimilated.

I'm especially thinking about getting rid of the tired old last-millennium biotechnology that I've been lugging around for a few decades, but I'll never get enough for it to cover even 10%% of what I've put into it.

Solfe
2012-Sep-21, 12:35 PM
There is no predicting. See Myspace. My children have friends on Myspace because it is "retro".

Cosmologist
2012-Sep-21, 01:02 PM
Rupert Murdoch killed that one. Not much difference really between it and facebook. Did you watch the Social Network. I did but only because Mark Zuckerberg hated it. It was modelled on MySpace. Social networks can evolve but with things like Skype and YouTube popping up its all starting to look retro. Like letter writing. Its a dying art. Look at some of the stuff young people thump out of their keyboards. Even their spellcheckers choke on the material. Text might be on the way out soon. Already it costs practically nothing to send live feed video and sound. But will it happen gradually over a few more decades or spectacularly fast like the rise of the net?

grapes
2012-Sep-21, 01:16 PM
But will it happen gradually over a few more decades or spectacularly fast like the rise of the net?Just curious, how fast do you consider the net rose? :)

Moose
2012-Sep-21, 01:21 PM
:think: . o O ( Please don't say 1997... Please don't say 1997... )

Fazor
2012-Sep-21, 01:29 PM
:think: . o O ( Please don't say 1997... Please don't say 1997... )

1997! Sorry, how am I supposed to resist doing that?

LookingSkyward
2012-Sep-21, 01:32 PM
LOL

Moose
2012-Sep-21, 01:33 PM