PDA

View Full Version : How does the opacity of space affect our observations of distant objects?

mkline55
2012-Sep-24, 04:21 PM
To start with, I am just a newbie as my title implies, so please excuse the terms I use and my simple-minded observations. I did do some background research, and quickly realized I need help. Also, I didn't put this in the question section because it seems to go a little farther than just a question/answer.

Just to help make this simple enough for me to explain, assume for a moment that there is only one element, HI, in the entire universe. Also assume that the stars and galaxies still exist, as well as all the interstellar medium (now made up entirely of HI).

Also, everything is in motion. That's important to this line of thought. Would the interstallar dust have motion relatively similar to that of other nearby objects? I think it would, except for localized exceptions, and the effects of larger events such as supernovas or colliding galaxies.

Now, light from the stars is generated in certain predictable wavelengths. Nearby interstallar dust, because it is moving relatively slowly compared to the star, would tend to absorb a certain amount of that light and scatter it in random directions, wouldn't it? Most of the light would pass through the nearby dust, though.

What about as that light continues onward? As it encounters random free HI, wouldn't more and more of it be absorbed as long as the "frequencies matched up"? Eventually, provided it passed through enough random particles, wouldn't nearly all the light be absorbed? Yes, I understand that space is pretty empty, but we're also talking about vast distances of over a billion light years.