PDA

View Full Version : Space Marines redux: Life in the military

Noclevername
2012-Oct-27, 02:41 PM
I have no military experience, so I'd like to know from those who do, just what that experience is like. What differs from civilian life? How do I capture the "feel" of being a soldier? (I realize certain details may be unsuitable for family-friendly viewing, PM me with anything that doens't fit on the front page.)

Solfe
2012-Oct-27, 09:12 PM
I am not a soldier nor have I ever been, but all of them seem to have a distinct dislike for standing in line. :)

starcanuck64
2012-Oct-27, 09:19 PM
I signed up for Officer Candidate School in the Canadian Forces when I was eighteen but was informed the class was full and I'd have to re-apply in a few months...I never did and don't really regret it, I don't handle the kind of regimentation that goes with military life very well.

Noclevername
2012-Oct-27, 09:52 PM
Sounds like the time I almost joined the Navy; I had bad eyesight which would have kept me out, the recruiter said he could wedge me in but after seeing what bozos most of the guys in the recruitment office were, and realizing I'd have to take orders from them, I declined the offer.

Given that at the time I had never heard of Asperger's, let alone knew that I had it, I probably would have been booted for insubordination and questioning orders-- I had a thing about demanding rational explanations for stuff I was told to do. Still do, but now I know when to keep my mouth shut about it.

starcanuck64
2012-Oct-27, 10:12 PM
My first choice was pilot, but my eyesight by that time was pretty bad, so I decided I'd try for Air Weapons Controller and be the guy on the ground directing the pilots, but the three months they gave me in between classes gave me the time to see that I probably wasn't a good fit with the military either.

Ara Pacis
2012-Oct-28, 12:07 AM