PDA

View Full Version : defragmenting your computer

dgruss23
2004-Oct-30, 05:55 PM
This morning I spent several hours cleaning up my hard drive as it seemed my computer was running slow. In the process of deleting files I went into my kids folder and found they had saved about 1500 images from the web of horses and chickens mostly!!! :o :evil: ](*,) :lol: What they thought they were going to do with these should be an interesting discussion. :lol:

Anyway, I tried something a co-worker told me about that I've never done before "defrag the hard drive". Windows has a function that sorts files and realigns them to clean up and consolidate the hard drive space. Some files are split into several locations on the hard drive and the defragment program fixes that and consolidates the files.

Anyway, it took the program about 45 minutes or more to complete the job ... but things seem to be running faster.

Added:
Oh yeah ... if you just go into the search mode and type "defrag" windows will take you through it.

Humphrey
2004-Oct-30, 05:56 PM
Horses and chickens? :o

dgruss23
2004-Oct-30, 05:58 PM
Horses and chickens? :o

Yes, apparently the 2 horses in our barn aren't enough for them! I'm thinking if they have time enough to save 1500 images, they have time to muck out the stalls! :wink:

Humphrey
2004-Oct-30, 06:02 PM
hehehe..... :lol: :lol:

Maybe they are giving you a hint at what they want for their Birthday. :-)

dgruss23
2004-Oct-30, 06:10 PM

You have no idea ... There is this thing about the XX chromosome combination and horses. My wife loves horses ... has three ... although in theory one of them is mine. I have 4 daughters and they are nuts about horses. Books, toys, pretend games ... horses ... horses ... horses.

Well, its better now than when they're teenagers ... boys ... boys ... boys.

If I had a dime for every time someone has told me I'll need to get a shotgun when they're teenagers. :roll: :o

Tranquility
2004-Oct-30, 06:12 PM