PDA

View Full Version : Won't someone please think of the saplings!

Glom
2004-Nov-01, 09:31 PM
Sequestration (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/3667979.stm)

More sequestration (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/3971307.stm)

Waste of perfectly good natural fertiliser. I guess we'll have to go back to huge amounts of ammonium nitrate.

Surprise surprise that environmental groups don't like it. We can't have a solution to a non-existent problem that doesn't involve dismantling society. [-X

Swift
2004-Nov-01, 10:02 PM
Glom, for the most part I have not gotten involved in the various threads on global warming. I know enough to know that I am not an expert on climate and I don't have enough time to research the topic to debate with you and others about it.

My position is that if a large percentage of the climate experts state that humans are causing a change in the global climate, and as best as I can undertand it their reasoning sounds reasonable, I tend to believe them. Similarly, if most of the experts in astronomy and physics on this board (and elsewhere) state that General Relativity is the best explanation for gravity, I tend to believe them. I don't have time to personally
examine every piece of evidence about everything. But don't let me stop you folks from debating it.

Surprise surprise that environmental groups don't like it. We can't have a solution to a non-existent problem that doesn't involve dismantling society. [-X

I didn't understand where this statement came from, particularly since neither article mentioned the position of any environmental group.