PDA

View Full Version : I'm out.

NorthernDevo
2013-Mar-07, 04:20 AM
OK - I know that I'm filled with rage at the moment, I know I'm hurting, desperate and very vulnerable.
I have quit drinking and am going through alcohol withdrawal. I am an alcoholic. A week from now I will be able to say I was an alcoholic, but right now I'm in Satan's grip and he's doing everything he can to break my will. I WILL NOT GIVE IN.

I have the shakes, the chills, the DT's, the nightmares, the invisible spiders. I have everything. But I'm on top of it. I'm going to beat this. Even if I win, I have only two or three decades left to me. I am a man just shy of fifty years; my life and lifestyle have determined that I won't see eighty, no matter how well I live my life from now on. I was a soldier; a peacekeeper. Specifically, I was a Section Commander (Sergeant) of Assault Pioneers, Second Battalion Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry, during the Bosnian War. Only four of my Section from that time remain alive today; the others died in Afghanistan, or from alcohol and drugs; one died in a car accident. One struggles to form a foundation for Military amputees - he lost both legs in Hydrabad. Section 45B is gone - the best soldiers that ever laced on armour in the modern world are dead. Despite what you might think I accept that. We did what we could. Death or injury was nothing to us then, in our twenties. I freely gave up my youth and health to defend others; and in our day we saved many. In my soldier's mind; it is an acceptable bargain. Whatever few years I have left, I want those years to be ones of peace; ones in which I can enjoy life.

Based on prior knowledge and experience, I think I have another week to go before the fevers break and I can eat solid food again. I was chronicling my progress on this and another forum.