PDA

View Full Version : Moon's Orbit

AverysDad
2004-Nov-14, 02:50 PM
This may be a bit elementary for some of you, but I'm an English teacher, so it's all very new to me.

My son, Avery, is 7 years old and is researching a question of his choice, which is:

Why does the moon orbit the earth instead of crashing into it?

Seems logical enough to him and to me. We've searched the 'net for some user-friendly articles (that is, articles that the English teacher or the 2nd grader could understand) but we haven't found a suitable explanation.

Can anyone offer any help as to where we could go to find the answer?

Thanks,
Avery's Dad

2004-Nov-14, 03:23 PM
Can anyone offer any help as to where we could go to find the answer?
I don't know if you've rejected this one as too diificult, but it was how I was introduced to orbits as a youngster: the ol' cannon on a mountaintop (http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/basics/bsf3-4.html).

So... the moon orbits earth because someone shot it out of a cannon on top of a high enough mountain with enough gunpowder to make it go as fast as it does -- or something else, some set of circumstances, got it to the right speed in the right place.

Joel Clifton
2004-Nov-14, 06:06 PM
If the moon were stationary, it would fall straight down. But because of its speed, by the time it falls enough to reach the Earth, it has moved past it. It is literally falling around the Earth.

Another way of thinking about it is the "centrifugal" force is in equilibruim with the Earth's gravity.

Imagine if you had weight at the end of a spring. If you let it go, the spring will pull the weight toward your hand. The spring can be equated to Earth's gravity. When you swing it around, the centrifugal force pulls the weight away from your hand, and stretches the spring. The spring is trying to pull the weight toward your hand, but weight's vector is keeping the spring extended.

A Thousand Pardons
2004-Nov-14, 06:28 PM