PDA

View Full Version : Is the Swinburne online Astronomy degree reputable?

weRborg
2013-Apr-10, 01:41 PM
Hi guys,

I'm interested in signing up for the Swinburne University online Masters in Astronomy program.

Here's my deal though. I'm 29. I majored in Business back in university. About 3 or 4 years ago, I really got into space and space science. The passion for it just came later for me than some others.

I already have a job, debt, a family, and there's just no way I'm going back to undergrad school to get a traditional BA in a space science at this point. So I've been looking for a way to bypass that and I think I may have found it with Swinburne. I don't need a space related BA to be accepted, and I can take courses online, part time, and it's in my price range.

My biggest concern though is spending 2 or 3 years hammering out a degree, only to have it not taken seriously by the astronomical society. Once I'm finished, I would like to make a career change as the industry I'm in now has lost all of it's charm and I desperately want out.

Space is one of my passions and I love educating myself about it daily. I want to be able to work and support myself and my family in it.

I know Swinburne used to sponsor the Astronomy Cast, which is affiliated with Universe Today and CosmoQuest. So I'm hoping people here might be familiar with it and be able to offer an informed objective opinion.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I look forward to your responses.

StupendousMan
2013-Apr-13, 01:43 AM
The answer really depends on your future plans. I'm sure that you'll learn a heck of a lot from the program, so if that's your only goal, why not? But perhaps you have plans to use the degree in some way -- to get a job in some industry, or to serve as a springboard for further education. Can you tell us what you'd like to do? Once we know that, we may be able to give you better advice.

weRborg
2013-Apr-17, 05:54 AM