PDA

View Full Version : What the heck is "Silverlight"?

Trebuchet
2013-May-06, 03:51 PM
I just got a message in Chrome that the Silverlight plugin was blocked because it was out of date. A very brief Google indicated it's a Microsoft product, but what the heck does it do? Is it MS's substitute for Flash, or Javascript, or something? Is it worth letting it update? I've given up on updating Flash, it doesn't seem to improve the stability and Adobe is always trying to push an unwanted McAfee product on me.

profloater
2013-May-06, 05:44 PM
I am no expert but it seems to be necessary to view some types of video such as Netflix streamed stuff. I got the same message (when using Netflix), took a chance and went ahead and it seems to work!.

Infinity Watcher
2013-May-06, 07:42 PM
I just got a message in Chrome that the Silverlight plugin was blocked because it was out of date. A very brief Google indicated it's a Microsoft product, but what the heck does it do? Is it MS's substitute for Flash, or Javascript, or something? Is it worth letting it update? I've given up on updating Flash, it doesn't seem to improve the stability and Adobe is always trying to push an unwanted McAfee product on me.

It's basically Microsoft's answer to Flash to try and break into Adobe's effective monopoly. I'd recommend updating Flash, not for any stability gains but because they do routinely close various security holes with their updates (granted they open new ones every so often but it's still safer on the whole to stay updated). I agree about hte annoyingness of them trying to push McAfee though... if I wanted Mcafee I would be running McAfee advertising is one thing but don't try and slip an install past my guard like that...

Trebuchet
2013-May-06, 11:24 PM